UD College of Engineering Teaching Awards

College of Engineering
Teaching Award

The University of Delaware, College of Engineering is accepting nominations for the Excellence in Teaching Award which will be presented to a member of our faculty as part of our Convocation ceremony.


College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching Award

This award shall be given to a faculty member who demonstrates true excellence in teaching. This individual shall be highly knowledgeable about his/her subject matter and intellectually challenging, be deeply committed to teaching and to students, be skilled in communicating with students and finding innovative ways to promote learning and understanding, and have a positive and long-lasting impact upon students and their educational development.


All full-time College of Engineering faculty who have not won the award within the past ten years are eligible (The College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching Award was initiated in 2000).

College of Engineering Excellence in Teaching Award past recipients:

Professor Joshua Enszer, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, 2017

Professor Eric Furst, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, 2016

Professor Jill Higginson, Mechanical Engineering, 2015

Professor Jennifer M. Buckley, Mechanical Engineering, 2014

Professor Hui Fang, Electrical & Computer Engineering, 2013

Professor Thomas Schumacher, Civil & Environmental Engineering, 2012

Professor Allen A. Jayne, Civil and Environmental Engineering, 2010

Professor Abraham M. Lenhoff, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, 2009

Professor Christopher J. Roberts, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, 2008

Professor S. Ismat Shah, Materials Science and Engineering, 2007

Professor Jorge Garcia, Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2006

Professor John Elias, Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2005

Professor Babatunde Ogunnaike, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, 2004

Professor Pei Chiu, Civil and Environmental Engineering, 2003

Professor Daniel S. Weile, Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2002

Professor Harry “Tripp” Shenton, Civil and Environmental Engineering, 2001

Professor Dennis Prather, Electrical and Computer Engineering, 2000

Deadline for Nominations:

Nominations should be submitted by March 23, 2018. Recipients will be announced at our Convocation ceremony.

Nominate Now

Bookmark and Share